did you know?

Have you seen THE SWITCH?

I kinda like it, mainly cuz of the little kid.

He is one of a kind and totally makes me laugh!

Anyway, there is a point in the movie when Jason Bateman is talking with the kid and describing hypochondria…the little kid gets a serious look and says “oh my {i choose to say gosh}, I have that.”  Just watch it!

SO, today.  I was reading this article that I saw floating around twitter & facebook.  AND, I had a moment exactly like that.  Oh my goodness.  I HAVE THAT.

23 Signs You’re Secretly An Introvert 

Even though I totally don’t feel like it’s a secret.  Don’t get me wrong, I may have a few moments of extroversion…but let me highlight a few of my favorites.

 You go to parties -– but not to meet people.

If you’re an introvert, you may sometimes enjoy going to parties, but chances are, you’re not going because you’re excited to meet new people. At a party, most introverts would rather spend time with people they already know and feel comfortable around. If you happen to meet a new person that you connect with, great — but meeting people is rarely the goal. Yuppp.  It’s a really great thing I have Chad…but we will get more into detail on that later…

 Networking makes you feel like a phony.

Networking (read: small-talk with the end goal of advancing your career) can feel particularly disingenuous for introverts, who crave authenticity in their interactions.

“Networking is stressful if we do it in the ways that are stressful to us,” Dembling says, advising introverts to network in small, intimate groups rather than at large mixers.  This is why I always feel that I’ll be awful at selling things.  It’s just not in cards.

Downtime doesn’t feel unproductive to you.

One of the most fundamental characteristics of introverts is that they need time alone to recharge their batteries. Whereas an extrovert might get bored or antsy spending a day at home alone with tea and a stack of magazines, this sort of down time feels necessary and satisfying to an introvert.  It was one of the biggest hurdles we faced as a married couple.  I enjoyed sitting at home doing nothing night after night after night.  AND IT DROVE CHAD BONKERS!  

You’re in a relationship with an extrovert.

It’s true that opposites attract, and introverts frequently gravitate towards outgoing extroverts who encourage them to have fun and not take themselves too seriously.

“Introverts are sometimes drawn to extroverts because they like being able to ride their ‘fun bubble,'” Dembling says. Um, have you met Chad?

You actively avoid any shows that might involve audience participation.

Because really, is anything more terrifying?  Seriously.  Yes.  Sidenote:  Chad would be the guy that raises his hand and wants to go on stage while I’m just sitting there hoping no one sees him because I’m scared for him.  Naturally, he’d get picked and I’d sit in the seat sweating!!

You screen all your calls — even from friends.

You may not pick up your phone even from people you like, but you’ll call them back as soon as you’re mentally prepared and have gathered the energy for the conversation.

“To me, a ringing phone is like having somebody jump out of a closet and go ‘BOO!,'” says Dembling. “I do like having a long, nice phone call with a friend — as long as it’s not jumping out of the sky at me.” I’m sorry friends {and family} it happens.  And it happens more than I’d like to admit.  Again, this drives Chad crazy.  He doesn’t understand why I won’t answer the phone.  And you can bet your booty that I certainly don’t answer if I don’t recognize the phone number.  No way Jose!  They can leave a voicemail.

You notice details that others don’t.

The upside of being overwhelmed by too much stimuli is that introverts often have a keen eye for detail, noticing things that may escape others around them. Research has found that introverts exhibit increased brain activity when processing visual information, as compared to extroverts.  Again, happens all the time. I’m constantly pointing things out to Chad that he had no idea happened.  It’s especially a horrifying trait after you’ve gone to hair school and worked as a hairdresser for any amount of time.  I am constantly analyzing your hair.  Trying to assess how I would do the same cut, how you achieved your style, what you were thinking :), and plenty of other random thoughts!

You have low blood pressure.

A 2006 Japanese study found that introverts tend to have lower blood pressure than their extroverted counterparts.  Well, this may be true…but it is NOT true when I am anywhere near a Dr. office.  Let’s just say it’s a great thing that they don’t take MY BP at K’s appointments.  Check my chart…the nurse even told me in the hospital – it says “severe white coat syndrome”.  In case you didn’t know…they tend to freak out when pregnant ladies have high blood pressure.  I told them I was fine at every prenatal appointment.  It was just being INSIDE that dang office!  Sheesh!

You’ve been called an “old soul” -– since your 20s.

Introverts observe and take in a lot of information, and they think before they speak, leading them to appear wise to others.

“Introverts tend to think hard and be analytical,” says Dembling. “That can make them seem wise.”  I call it being emotionally aware.

You’re a writer.

Introverts are often better at communicating in writing than in person, and many are drawn to the solitary, creative profession of writing. Most introverts — like “Harry Potter” author J.K. Rowling — say that they feel most creatively charged when they have time to be alone with their thoughts. Guess this might be why I started a blog.

Check out the full article…it is so interesting.  It may help you understand yourself or all the introverts in your life!

I made Chad read it after work.  He had so much more understanding for me 🙂  I’m sure there’s an article out there on extroversion!  Cuz Chaddy-Boy fits that to a T!

2 thoughts on “did you know?

  1. Oh my goodness Tara, this describes my husband and me exactly. He is a major extrovert and I am exactly like what is described above. Especially can relate to wanting to stay in all the time and it driving The Hubs crazy. I could sit and watch t.v. or read blogs for hours and I don’t feel one bit unproductive.

Leave a Reply

