5 on Friday

ONE.

Kohen had his 15 month check up this week.  Everything was fine, but the little monster was so not having anything to do with the entire appointment.  It was awful.  And, as we know, I hate the doctor in the first place.  No, not the doctor as in the actual person, but just the thought of GOING to the doctor….makes me sweat just thinking about it.  So, I guess I don’t really blame the kid.

K just didn’t want to be touched or told what to do, or held to get measurements.  NOTHING.  It all started to go downhill when my mom (she’s the nurse btw – fun, huh?  It is a blessing for sure) took away the goldfish so that we could weigh him.  Then, the sweet med student came in – and she was oh so sweet, but K didn’t want to hold still for any amount of prodding and poking.  So, I’m getting hot, the docs are asking me if I have any questions…uhhh, I can’t even think straight with the screaming child – nope, no questions…just want to get. out. of. here.

We both got flu shots (the only shot for K this time around!) and we were on our way.  I feel like it will only get worse when we go back for he 18 month appointment.  I’m dreading it already.

IMG_1538

Obviously not a picture from the appointment, but who wants to remember that awful hour and half.  I’ll let you all picture what that room looked like…

TWO.

Today K and I are headed to the zoo with a new friend from church (and her two kids).  Her name is Tara too, so naturally she’s pretty cool!  It will be fun to go again and I’m looking forward to a slightly cooler day.

THREE.

I made these delicious pumpkin cookies.  Chad requested that I not use chocolate chips and pumpkin together.  I, personally, am very fond of the combination – but in an effort to not be the only one eating all the sweets around here, I tried to follow his wishes.  I found this recipe and I thought, “PERFECT”!  Until, I got to the grocery store and could not find any cinnamon chips.  Does anyone know where I can find them?  Are they very seasonal?  The worker looked at me like I was crazy – so I’m guessing they aren’t very common??  I decided in the grocery aisle that white chocolate chips would be a good compromise.  And, I was correct.  They are so yummy!  I even took some to work to share with my co-workers.  They thought they were gross…ha!  I think there were only 2 cookies left by lunch time!  My co-workers love me and hate me all at the same time.  YOU ARE WELCOME! 🙂

FOUR.

When I was pregnant with K, every Saturday was Donut Saturday.  Sometimes Chad would even get up before me and go get them and bring them back to the house – it was glorious!  After K was born, we slowly weened off of the EVERY Saturday donut routine, but since we’ve moved we have been on a personal mission to find the best donut place in the city.  We have not gone out every Saturday, but we have taken selective days to try new donut places.  Still haven’t found THE one…but we are still searching.  This Saturday the search continues…going to try out The Donut Whole downtown.  I feel like we are not going to be disappointed.  It’s a 24 hour joint with all kinds of crazy flavors and combinations.  I’m already trying to decide what I will try!  I will be sure to report back!

1239467_10151683068533883_1721629946_nvia

FIVE.

Now, if you’ve never been blonde, this next little paragraph isn’t going to make sense to you…but here we go.  You know how the weather is changing and pumpkins and mums, and candy corn and apples and all that fall goodness is appearing around?  Well, it’s that time of year when people generally “go darker” with their hair color.  Sometimes, just sometimes, I have that sudden urge to go brunette.

I mean, you may remember me when my hair looked like this:

62_552781948549_5605_n

Or when I was in hair school and it was like this:

10534_506110099882_6074330_n

Or, even a variation of both above:

Untitled

So, it shouldn’t be THAT crazy for me to think about going an all over different shade…but then I get scared and worry about how I will miss my blonde – because THAT happens people.  It is a real thing.  Just ask anyone who has been blonde and then goes dark – it is a scary place 😉 There are so many factors and I let my over analytical hairdresser brain get way too crazy – when I should definitely let the artsy, creative, impulsive side just take over.  Guess we’ll see!

HAPPY WEEKEND!

 

3 thoughts on “5 on Friday

  1. 1. Every Saturday should be donut day. But Lamars sprinkle are the best. Know that. 🙂
    2. Cinnamon chips= totally normal. The store associate must be missing out.
    3. I wish I was brave with my hair like you. I’m ready for a new do, but so fickle. You have new ideas for me?
    4. (From an old post) Great way to use the rest of a can of pumpkin is on quesadillas. Just try it! Equal parts pumpkin and Mexican cheese, seasoned canned or real chicken (add chile powder), and a bit of sour cream if you have it. Just try it 🙂

  2. Sam! You should add some caramel-y highlights for fall 🙂 Or, some really dark auburn ones…it would be beautiful!

    And the pumpkin on a quesadilla sounds good! Chad prob would stick up his nose…but I’m totally gonna do it!

Leave a Reply

