5 on Friday

ONE.

In an effort to share the “real” life of our little family, there was a bit of a “mom fail” at our house this week.  I needed to run downstairs without K, so I shut him in his room.  I ran quickly down and ran back up…went to his door, and it was locked.  So my unhappy little one year old is locked inside his room.  I remained relatively calm.  Called Chad – he was out at football practice.  He told me to call the complex manager and they would send maintenance out.  K was very frustrated while locked on the other side of the door.  I was able to calm him for a bit by putting my hand underneath the door where he could see it.  He put his hand on mine.  It was precious and super sad all at the same time.  Maintenance came over (after what seemed like an eternity – probably around 10 mins) and opened the door with a small little tool (which he told me where to get one just like it and to keep it in the kitchen in the event that this ever happens again)  UGH!!  I shared this story with some other gals and they assured me that I wasn’t the worst mom ever.  They also shared similar stories as to not make me feel so bad.  It helped 🙂

TWO.

One of the best things about living in this smaller space is that it doesn’t take very long to clean!  I got supper ready, and while it was simmering on the stove, Chad and I cleaned the whole place.  Whew, it felt good to have it clean and over with so that we could enjoy the evening.  BUT, can I just say – cleaning the bathrooms is just the worst.  My least favorite by far!

THREE.

For supper last night I made a fall-ish meal.  A storm was moving in, it got dark and cool outside and I was so glad I had chili on the menu!  I used Pioneer Woman’s Simple, Perfect Chili Recipe and we ate it with shredded cheese and fritos.  I also made some apple pumpkin spice muffins – the most easy recipe ever!  1 box Spice Cake mix, 1 can pumpkin, 1 apple (cut in small pieces).  Mix all together and put in a lined muffin tin.  Bake at 350 for 20-25mins.  I’m not sure exactly where to give credit for this recipe.  I first heard about it in college while at KU.  It is so simple and so yummy!

FOUR.

K and Chad get to spend Thursdays together (Chad’s day off from the clinic and I work from home).  They usually go for an outing in the morning.  Yesterday, K got an extra treat.  It was a hit with K (and daddy).  The extra special treat…the red truck in the middle is a Ford F-150 crew cab, which happens the be the SAME truck Chad has!!!  Chad was pretty proud.IMG_1031

FIVE.

CHIEFSSSSSS!!!

IMG_1598

Leave a Reply

